A quiet seaside retreat
St Peter Port, Guernsey
Our peaceful setting, overlooking leafy parkland, offers the feeling of a quiet seaside retreat, and yet we are just a short stroll down the gentle hill to the heart of St Peter Port, known as one of Europe’s prettiest harbour towns.
Our luxurious hotel offers the perfect location in this charming seaside town, with magnificent views across the sea. Savour exquisite dining with fresh local seafood in stylish surroundings, as our dedicated team ensures your memorable stay exceeds your highest expectations.
The Duke Of Richmond is temporarily closed due the current travel restrictions. During this time, our team will be working hard to ensure the hotel is at its best, and ready to welcome you back soon.
At the age of 16, Hardy helped his father with the architectural drawings for a restoration of Woodsford Castle. The owner, architect James Hicks, was impressed by the younger Hardy's work, and took him on as an apprentice. In 1862, aged 22, Hardy moved to London to study and enrolled as a student at King's College. He worked for prominent architect Arthur Blomfield and won prizes from both the Royal Institute of British Architects and the Architectural Association.
During this time he began writing, but his poems were rejected by a number of publishers. Poor health forced him to return to Dorset in 1867 and he began to write full time. After the 5th Earl’s marriage in 1872 he embarked on a major expansion of Melbury, including the addition of the Grand Library. Following its completion he set about an expansion of Summer Lodge which had been built as the Dower House for Melbury, by the 2nd Earl, in 1798. This addition of the Drawing Room and Master Suite was done in 1893 and it’s generally believed that following their earlier meetings, The 5th Earl, then resident of Summer Lodge, asked Hardy to design the extension. This new addition is architecturally rather different from the original part of the house and is notable for its high ceilings and particularly for the tall sash windows which allow its rooms to be flooded with natural light.
Hardy published his first novel, Desperate Remedies, in 1871 to universal disinterest. But the following year Under the Greenwood Tree brought Hardy popular acclaim for the first time. As with most of his fictional works, Greenwood Tree incorporated real places around Dorset into the plot, including the village school of Higher Bockhampton that Hardy had first attended as a child.
The success of Greenwood Tree brought Hardy a commission to write a serialized novel, A Pair of Blue Eyes, for Tinsley's Magazine. Once more, Hardy drew upon real life and the novel mirrors his own courtship of Emma. Hardy followed this with Far From the Madding Crowd, set in Puddletown (renamed Weatherby), near his birthplace. This novel finally netted Hardy the success that enabled him to give up his architectural practice and concentrate solely on writing.
The Hardys lived in London for a short time, in Yeovil and then in Sturminster Newton (Stourcastle), which Hardy described as "idyllic". It was Sturminster Newton where Hardy penned Return of the Native, one of his most enduring works. Finally, the Hardys moved to Dorchester where Thomas designed their new house, Max Gate, into which they moved in 1885. One year later, Hardy published The Mayor of Casterbridge followed in 1887 by The Woodlanders and in 1891 by one of his best works, Tess of the d'Urbervilles.
Tess provoked interest, but his next work, Jude the Obscure (1896), catapulted Hardy into the midst of a storm of controversy. Jude outraged Victorian morality and was seen as an attack upon the institution of marriage. Its publication caused a rift between Thomas and Emma, who feared readers would regard it as describing their own marriage.